I saw two socks

I saw two socks
hanging across in the dark
bordered within a tiny rectangular balcony
only with railings made of iron

these were no socks but the learned shape
of named matter
as we are conditioned to see

it was night

I saw two worn out socks
hanging from an invisible washline
airing in an invisible way
Not that I saw one slight move
but because the laundry on higher bigger balconies were waving
and the leaves
and these endless lines of triangular
paper-like / prayer-flag-like election flags

altogether palpitating in a way that made me almost say
‘these are beautiful!’

until the pre programming within their existence
became obvious to the mind
instead I thought I said
‘not quite so but I could have liked them if they were so’
kinda thing

and yes I could have even wished to see them permanently
as if a part of a flying metropole of all colors
within a concept of whatever permanence would mean or the latter …. if ever

You know permanence is a state….and lasts as long as the permanence of one’s state which is equivalent to an ‘endlessness within’
preserved in a pack with an expiry date and that’s all about it for any
endless permanence bound to matter … nothing stays once you define, once you name, once you label a thing
it stays not
such is a name of a person,
a person may have 1000 names
all the 1000 are destined to remain within the elements of the name bearer’s cycle
receiving a life because it has been brought to life by being named – name in spell of gravity
losing its universality – precipitating partially -…Ahh whatever
forget about it

I was saying the flag like triangles remained colorless
but to the mind they had color
as seen in the daylight
and they moved to and fro in the night air

And so the mind says
if they move then these two socks should also move
… in ideal conditions
although there is a brick barrier
although they are sheltered in a ‘one person fits terrace’

and that one person
is most probably an older man or a woman
really cannot imagine a family
I know I am sure
only one person lives there
Because the family vibe is not in these shadows
it is the worn out socks’ worn out owner sleeping now
behind a worn out glass with worn out curtains
meant to shut to fit custom but inversely exposing
a worn out life

I am sure the air reaches there for a slight sweep from the side

I saw two socks hanging yes last night
They were no two socks but looked like it
A silhouette bearing two black patternless
favorited – mostly chosen -two ordinary
socks
that rapidly needs to dry before tomorrow’s rush
not to be a part of it
But by which it gives an appearance of
‘has already long dried’
and still hangs there long
from an invisible parabolic wash line
because that’s exactly how it goes with socks:
a left behind – unforgotten pair
to stay as if forgotten
until a life would pass
while they are long dry
so
Yes I saw two lulling socks
dangling from an invisible parabolic line
building a balcony floor
made of pebbly patterned stones
which I will never see

a floor where a broomstick was neatly placed at the side of a sun-dried-brick wall
to confirm about the existence of straight lines
a floor which also confirmed that the 130 angled line to the point which the broom stick rests
has horizontal parallels
one of which would be the first tangent to touch the right sock

also telling there is a right and left one relative to my look
but also a short and a long one
because the tangent only touched the tip of one sock to be called a tangent
the left one remained untouched yet ….and confirmed the primary reason of not being touched was not because it was shorter
which may naturally be – could be … of course

but mainly because it was hanging from a parabolic curve -which still remained invisible to the eye because -it was night. . . Ah yes the eye – my eyes …No they have never been good
I am born with one lazy one but its condition has nothing to do with what I say
if there is at all a thing I am saying now right now haha

but maybe it heals the eye … I mean this way of looking at invisible things as they appear to us …maybe but who cares

as of now slowly it starts getting too much this thing in my mind now

As my smoking dream ends with the romance of the poor socks or the beauty converts to my own making or as I see and am sure these two socks were as long as each other when they were first produced but not now
and that is not because the heel side is slightly torn
but simply because they are hanging from a parabolic line which is there because there is gravity or is it such that these socks create the gravity?

Yes I saw two socks last night while wishing to smoke a cig and looked as long as the blow could take it and so I became friends with the socks
but
Maybe it was a dream
or
Maybe real
but
Who cares
when
All is long gone now

Leave a Reply

